IT'S NOT THE END

22 August 2015 • No comments




I'm currently in Hong Kong but I thought I would share with you all my experience of getting into uni- as the D day is tomorrow!(( This post was meant to come out on A-level results day but it has been over a week now haha )).

To those of you who have all worked exceptionally hard and already have unconditional offers, a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS! I know many who have worked exceptionally hard for their offers and I am so proud. 

Other, unfortunately, may work just as hard but not have developed the right strategy of revising. Or just crumble when they get to exams. Exams are not for everybody and forcing yourself through A-levels is absolutely deadly. 

I was one of those who got excited to revise about 10 months before... never ended up doing it... never had the motivation and then literally crammed in revision the night before, doing all nighters and pushing my luck. This was most probably why I failed. I would fall asleep in lessons and literally could not open my eyes no matter how bad I felt or how hard I tried to stay awake. I just couldn't do it. I couldn't even blame it on lack of sleep...I'd get home from college and get so depressed I would sleep the time away to avoid everything. I mean, I didn't NOT revise, but I just found everything so hard to keep up with that I just broke down. 

I done my first AS year at my secondary school's sixth form, where they were opening for the first time and that is a decision I highly regret. I didn't do badly in my GCSEs and got into the grammar schools around me except one of the most prestigious ones I wanted to get into... It was that, or nothing. I didn't get in and decided to stay at sixth form...where around 15 of us had to retake first year due to our biology and chemistry results ( we all wanted to do something science/medical related ). IT WAS ALL OVER FOR ME. My school only gave me the option of doing English based subjects... Hell N O. 

So I went to a nearby college my sisters both went to and spent a year doing Biology, Chemistry, Maths and Psychology.. I got even worse this year. Time was running out and I was depressed. I tried to convince my science teacher to let me complete a """ equivalent to 3 -a level """ BTEC in a year but I could only fit in enough for the one that gives you 2 grades. Yes. For another year I was depressed with me life as you can imagine! 18/19 years old... doing a bloody BTEC when I wanted to get into medicine.. My life was now a joke. 

BTECs were stupidly much easier, obviously. Make a poster, label it, write some functions, criteria complete. Obviously there were some topics that were hard but nothing can compare to A-levels. Much respect to those who got such good results! I done a Applied Science BTEC Diploma alongside doing both Business and Psychology A-levels in one year. 

I decided to put Midwifery down through my UCAS but failed terribly again... I got rejected by 5 unis, 3 straight up and 2 after failed interviews and a poor personal statement. I then went through Extra, choosing a further 3 unis and still failed. Clearing... Just know I sat in Tesco car park ringing every uni like crazy. I had 3 uni interviews scheduled and I got in to 2 so I didn't bother with the last... I was just happy to even get into one so I really didn't care! 

So yeah... I'm now about to start my second year of uni, studying Adult Nursing. The placements are tough, what you see and what you do but it is literally life. Just waiting to get this degree over and I'll weigh out my options... business, medicine, paramedic science, midwifery... the list goes on. 

Basically, I know this is super late but congratulations to those who got their desired grades and got into their desired uni! For those who didn't do too well in AS... you can always retake! For those who didn't do too well in A2... you can always retake as well. It's what you put your mind to. I got upset the first year of AS as I tried so hard and still failed, so I didn't really bother next time round. 

I really regret not going to the grammar schools around me. Yes, Mother know's best.. she did force me but I thought naaah. Let me chill here and be a failure for the rest of my life. I also now regret not doing an apprenticeship or getting a full time job. I know this sounds bad but I know a lot of you are the same.. I wish I was making money right now. Like not just part time job money to get you a loaf of bread and some shoes.... like real money. I guess my time will come... I'll just take life as it comes now :( 

GCSE people... research different uni courses and grade boundaries so you know what to work towards. It's never too early. 

Those wishing to pursue a career in medicine, I salute you. Those UKCAT and BMAT tests make your eyes go funny and your brain numb. I really don't know how you pass those. 

Those going into healthcare... know your 6Cs. If you're doing midwifery, remember you do not love babies. You are there to support the woman through the birth. Choose children's nursing if you love babies (( that's what they will say )). 

A long-winded, waffled post but you know, I sort of lost myself half way through and carried on. I hope you all done well with your results! Super proud of my friends that got into uni this year!

Keep going... it's actually not the end. 


S A L S K I I I

Post a Comment